Syncro fuel filter replacement, Part 2

Got the new filter today, and after working on my wave maker project I set about putting it in.

Installed into bracket.

Tucked behind spring tower, fuel line outlet attached first.

Then filter pulled forward towards front of van and inlet line attached. The the bracket moved into place and attached to tower with the screws. Do the rear screw first, then the front screw. Rear is towards rear of van, front is towards front of van.

Next is reinstalling carbon filter/canister bracket.

And finally the canister itself. I think I installed it higher on the bracket than before, but I don’t think I have crimped any of the lines at the top of the canister.

Overview shot of area.

In hindsight, I guess its not that bad of a job. But I can imagine it being hell with a van that has seen more salty winters. While I was in there, I removed an A/C line and the A/C drier that sat behind the charcoal canister, I’m stripping all the A/C stuff from the van.

  1. #1 by Erik on November 9, 2010 - 12:43 am

    Hi i have a latee88′ vanagon wolfsburg/weekender and it used to have the A/C unit. i have removed it and built a shelf and cabinet. i was wondering if the black canister on the last picture of this page, is part of the a/c and should i remove it aswell?

    thanks for your time,

    • #2 by albell on November 9, 2010 - 6:48 am

      No, that vertical black canister is part of the evaporative emissions control, its the charcoal canister. In an A/C equipped van there is a smaller canister in the same general area, with A/C hoses leading in and out of it. Its the drier and can be removed with the rest of the system, which indeed is what I did on that van.

  2. #3 by Micky Aldridge on May 15, 2012 - 10:18 am

    Another great blog post, and now seeing where the carbon canister is fitted, I know for sure my Syncro does not have one fitted. Is yours a 16″ Syncro or the 14″? Mine is a 14″ so maybe thats why Im struggling to find the fuel filter.

    • #4 by albell on May 15, 2012 - 6:01 pm

      Mine is a 14″, and you don’t have a carbon canister?

      ab

Leave a comment