ATA – close ups of the Catalina

Got lucky today and had the chance to get some quick up close snaps of the PBY 5. I even peeked inside… a lot of unpadded corners in there. Why that struck me I don’t know, maybe I am a closet Health & Safety officer. Anyway, word is that it will be flying again in the spring.

You have to watch this, Rick Mercer visiting Buffalo Airways HQ in Yellowknife, and in the winter.

http://www.cheknews.ca/flash/player-viral.swf

  1. #1 by Angus on February 24, 2011 - 6:33 pm

    Canadian built versions are usually referred to as a Canso. One of my favorites.

    • #2 by albell on February 24, 2011 - 6:38 pm

      That’s true, but I don’t know the history of this one. I’ll try and find out.

      ab

  2. #3 by Old Fussbudget on March 4, 2011 - 9:30 am

    I even peeked inside… a lot of unpadded corners in there

    I imagine they were more worried about the unpadded bullets…shoulda seen my dad the day one of the neighbor kids came in with an HE 20 mm round. That thing was in the river before you could say “knife.” Kid was so surprised he didn’t even object.

Leave a comment