Vanagon – westy skylight lifting mech. cover repaint and new knob

That old Delta Six Industries plastic doesn’t age well. I repainted the cover with Krylon Fusion satin black and at same time made a new knob from an old inline skate wheel and a bit of brass.

  1. #1 by John on June 9, 2011 - 2:40 pm

    That is fantastic! What did you have to do to get it to work? I am tired of the “vise grip” handle i have been having to use.
    Thanks!

  2. #2 by albell on June 10, 2011 - 8:50 am

    Hi,

    I’m afraid I did the harder way. I used a lathe to turn a brass insert for the wheel, drilled it for the screw hat holds th knob to the splined shaft, and pressed it into the wheel.
    Before I had the metal lathe I used a slice of polyethylene rod, a disk, and drilled that to fit on the little splined shaft on the lifting mechanism. That worked fine, if not as “stylish” as the wheel.
    I bet if you scour the hardware stores you can find a knob that will fit.

    cheers

    alistair

Leave a comment