Vanagon – another use for scrap aluminium

This time a bit of aluminium grating and it couldn’t have been easier to make – I cut it into two sections. Looks like it might work out in the field using rocks or wood to raise one end. BTW, my transmission bash plate seems to have generated a lot of chatter about increased transmission temps due to reduced air flow over the transmission. As with most internet chatter, no data given to support opinions but I hope to be able to do some temp measurements using IR gun (yes Simon, I’m going to ask to borrow it).

,

  1. #1 by Marius Strom on June 25, 2012 - 7:05 pm

    Looking good. Wonder if there’s any risk of puncturing a tire as you roll up onto those, though, given that there’s sharp-ish pointy aluminum at the ends. Might be good to grind down the ends to remove the 90-degree angle.

    • #2 by albell on June 25, 2012 - 8:22 pm

      I did hit the corners with angle grinder and blending disk. The corners are not as sharp as they look.
      cheers

      ab

  2. #3 by Simon on June 26, 2012 - 6:46 pm

    “a lot of chatter about increased transmission temps due to reduced air flow over the transmission”

    As they say to express skepticism in my dear old Ottawa Valley, “I be doubtin’ ‘er” 🙂

    • #4 by albell on June 26, 2012 - 6:54 pm

      Hey Simon, your wedges or my grating, who will win the levelling competition?

      ab

  3. #5 by Simon on June 26, 2012 - 7:40 pm

    I think you’ll take points for function but I’ll win on style!

  4. #7 by Pz on July 5, 2012 - 8:08 pm

    Hah! Hermans blog on Syncro transmission temperatures while climbing a slow-crawling forest road otta scare the crap out of many Syncro Drivers.

    Transmission coolers rule!

    Pz

Leave a comment