Vanagon – dash/glove compartment light minor mod

Those of you that have the little light above the glove compartment know how easy it is to ground the hot part of the light against the dashboard metal when you remove the light. I have lost count of the number of fuses I have lost that way. Oh sure I hear you say, why not disconnect the battery before removing the light? Well, yes, of course.

But, you can do something else. Slip a bit of heat shrink tubing over the flat metal inside the light. Shrink it up and your good to go. Here is a pic (I have a LED festoon replacement light in there). The light green is the heat shrink over the metal strip.

IMG_1989

  1. #1 by famillysyncro on February 22, 2013 - 5:03 am

    Alistair

    Are all van-model-light the same? I don’t remember it like that (I might be wrong) and especially don’t remember burning any fuses as me too, I have hard time unplugging the batery. It shouldn’t because of those “kill” switches I have but I don’t think about it….

    Anyway, smart idea. I am thinking of putting a led strip right there instead of the light when I have time but not sure what kind of switch I’ll use.

    Jerome

    • #2 by albell on February 22, 2013 - 8:09 am

      I think the lights are the same. You must have a steadier hand than I do 🙂

      I was pulling the light to see how I could wire in that left over bit of LED strip to have a glove compartment light. Was thinking of having the stock light switch control both lights.

      I put a neg post kill switch on my main battery (somewhere on the blog) . My aux battery has no kill switch and aux battery is powering the interior lights.

      cheers

      ab

Leave a comment