Vanagon – bumper build – fixing the endcap connection

I really didn’t think through the bumper to endcap transition did I? Here is what my doodling around resulted in.

IMG_2497

 

I have to be clear and say again that I’m winging it. I’m doing in aluminum what I should be doing in cardboard or thin plywood. So to fix the blunder, I cut the endcap up a bit, angled the bottom plate to match the bumper bottom plate, added another filler piece then welded it up and roughly smoothed things over. It is a lot better now, this might be the one to keep.

IMG_2553

I didn’t take too much time grinding the welds, but enough to get the idea of how I want the corners to look.

IMG_2554

 

IMG_2555

 

IMG_2556

Both bottom plates, bumper and endcap, meet up a bit better. I’d like to radius or smooth out the inside corner also.

IMG_2557

 

IMG_2558

 

Next thing to do is to double check fit on van, smooth out some wavy edges and corners, then make a matching (ha!) endcap for the other side.

 

  1. #1 by Govet on August 7, 2013 - 1:09 pm

    So… can I get a discount on this ‘pre-production’ unit? My check is ready, I just need to mail it out. 🙂 But really, you do incredible work and I am sincerely jealous of your metalworking skills/luck. Can’t wait to see it on the van.

    • #2 by albell on August 7, 2013 - 6:15 pm

      Hi Govet,

      well, the darn thing isn’t finished yet and to be honest this prototype is quite rough on the inside. My plan is to finish it and mount it un painted, then add some modifications (perhaps a swing away tire carrier), including inset back up lights and a cut out for trailer hitch. So I’ll be mucking around with it for a while.

      I will, when it is finished, try and work out how I could make more, simpler, better etc.

      cheers

      ab

  2. #3 by edbee on August 7, 2013 - 1:27 pm

    and next step after that is make another bumper just like it for Ed (well, I suppose you can make the parts to attach it to the van first)

    • #4 by albell on August 7, 2013 - 6:16 pm

      Yeah Ed, I have to finish and then use it for a while to see what needs changing and what to ad.

      cheers

      ab

  3. #5 by famillysyncro on August 7, 2013 - 2:32 pm

    It looks really nice, good job Alistair.

    • #6 by albell on August 7, 2013 - 6:16 pm

      Thanks Jerome,

      ab

Leave a comment