Vanagon – yet another bumper build update

I got something done today on this never ending project. I bought some C channel steel (1″x2″, 3/16″ thick) to replace the stock bumper mounts. I cut them long enough so a third bolt can be used to secure, just like the stock VW trailer hitch set up, and just like the RMW bumper system. With those channels rough cut and inserted I was able to offer up the bumper to the van, fitting it to pretty well its final position.

IMG_3053

 

IMG_3054

I attached the unfinished swing away tire carrier.

IMG_3056

 

And popped on a spare. I was worried that I had screwed up my measurements and the tire would cover part of the left rear light. But It clears it ok.

 

IMG_3057

 

IMG_3058

 

The bumper was not attached to the rails so it did tilt back a little. The tire carrier upright should be closer to the hatch.

 

IMG_3060

 

And swung out, the tire clears the van.

 

IMG_3061

,

  1. #1 by famillysyncro on April 1, 2014 - 7:55 pm

    Looks nice Alistair.
    The spare looks like in the right place!

    The C channel is better than the flat bar on the GW bumper on our van. I should replace it one day….

    Jerome

    • #2 by albell on April 1, 2014 - 8:09 pm

      Thanks Jerome,

      I’m thinking I might weld on a length of flat stock to close up the channel after I wel on the nuts. Just to give it a bit more strength.

      I was relieved that the tire was in the right position, for a moment I thought it would be too low. I wanted it as low as possible to reduce the stress on the upright.

      Cheers

      Ab

      >

  2. #3 by Jeffrey Woodall on April 1, 2014 - 8:54 pm

    Wow…great work.
    I’m staying tuned !
    woody

    • #4 by albell on April 1, 2014 - 9:25 pm

      At the rate I’m going at you might be tuning in dead air for a spell 🙂

      Cheers

      Alistair

  3. #5 by Ryan on April 1, 2014 - 8:55 pm

    Awesome!

    • #6 by albell on April 1, 2014 - 9:27 pm

      Thanks Ryan,

      Cheers

      Ab

  4. #7 by simon on April 1, 2014 - 9:01 pm

    Just looking again and again at pic #2 – really nice and snug to the van eh?!

    Looking forward to seeing the finished product one of these days.

    • #8 by albell on April 1, 2014 - 9:30 pm

      Yeah, very tight at the sides. In retrospect, I should have made the end caps separate, then fitted them onto to main bumper when on the van. I might have to grind a little off a tip of one of the end caps. Ab

      >

  5. #9 by Angus on April 2, 2014 - 9:54 pm

    I’ll take two in black please. Friday is fine.

    • #10 by albell on April 2, 2014 - 10:08 pm

      Aren’t you going to wait for the front bumper?

      My dilettante nature has me thinking about doing a front before finishing the rear.

      Yup, black. But powder coat or bedliner? What do you think?

      Cheers

      Ab

      >

      • #11 by Angus on April 2, 2014 - 10:26 pm

        Powder coat on mine please, but only if you have it done by Friday…

      • #12 by albell on April 2, 2014 - 10:32 pm

        Enough of this banter, how’s your syncro doing?

        Ab

        >

  6. #13 by Angus on April 2, 2014 - 10:51 pm

    It’ll be ready Friday. 🙂
    Years ago I helped my friend Dave build an airplane in my shop. That was our answer to the eternal question.

Leave a comment