Dometic fridge flue assembly

Posted here just for vanagon list discussion…

Assembly of flue, pics taken with fridge out of van. In van you would see fridge exhaust showing through hole in van wall. Try and arrange the exhaust to lie slightly inside wall, and exhaust and intake vents horizontal. The rubber gasket is placed on the van wall ( caulk backside of gasket with silicon or similar), then the next plate is offered up and the 2 machine screws inserted to pull the plate tight to the van wall. By the way, the threads in the holes in the exh/intake manifold are often pretty worn out. I found a 10-24 tap will cut new threads without drilling. You’ll need new screws of course, get stainless. You can see what I used in the pic. Then that plate is screwed to van wall by 2 sheet metal screws (the holes in van wall may be oversized, need to get bigger screws, and get stainless. Same thing with the 3 final screws). Next comes the plate with the offset hole. It only goes on one way and has to sit in the ridge on end of exh. tube. I find it easiest to put this plate on at same time as vent cover, holding the two in place with fingertips through vent holes. When assembled correctly, that trapped plate is held in place when the vent cover is screwed into van wall.

  1. #1 by David on June 18, 2015 - 12:27 pm

    Thanks for posting these. It’s very helpful. I have a question about the assembly. I just purchased a Dometic RM 182A that came from a vanagon. I also purchased the flue vent assembly. I’m planning to install it in my 13′ Burro camping trailer. I just want to make sure I’m doing it right. All the flue assembly parts are on the outside of the van/trailer? Is that correct? And then on the inside the exhaust of the fridge just sits flush up against the inside of the van? Do you put silicon on the inside wall of the van? Or just on the outside between the van wall and the rubber gasket? Thanks.

    • #2 by albell on June 18, 2015 - 4:01 pm

      Hi David,

      I’m glad my blog post helped you. In the vanagon install, the hole cut in the van body is only for clearance of the flue parts. The end of the flue gets attached to the baffle system and its the baffle assembly that gets screwed to the van body. The rubber gasket making the seal to the body. What I am trying to say is that the end of the flue from the fridge does not get directly attached to the van body.

      I did add some silicone sealant ( used because it is easy to remove) between the über gasket and the body. But if everything is assembled correctly the rubber gasket should lay flat and tight on the body.

      Is that clear? I’m sitting here writing this from memory and not looking at my pics on the blog. Shows how lazy I am.

      One thing just occurred to me. The flue is not that flexible, so be sure to have the end of the flue bent to make the alignment stress free.

      If I am not making sense or you have more questions please don’t hesitate to ask.

      Cheers

      Alistair

      • #3 by David on June 19, 2015 - 9:27 am

        Yeah, I’m a bit confused now. So, is the whole in the van wall big enough for the entire flue assembly, the sort of oval piece shown in the picture in the top left corner? I assumed the whole would be round and just big enough for the exhaust piece that sticks out a little bit. I’m just trying to figure out what it looks like on the inside of the van. Thanks.

      • #4 by albell on June 19, 2015 - 12:45 pm

        I’ll dig up some pictures to illustrate.

        Alistair

        >

      • #5 by albell on June 19, 2015 - 12:46 pm

        Oh, and somewhere on my blog, I’ll find the link later, there are pics of the hole I cut in the van body. Yes, it is bigger than I think you think.

        Alistair

        >

      • #6 by albell on June 19, 2015 - 12:51 pm

        Ok, pics of hole in van body in this blog post.

        https://shufti.wordpress.com/2010/08/20/vanagon-camperisation-part-3/

        And back to this post, you see how the flat plate is screwed to the flue with machine screws? That’s it, that’s all the direct attachment to the flue there is. That flat plate in turn gets screwed to van body by two sheet metal screws. Then the vent assembly screws through the flat plate onto the van body using three sheet metal screws. So the van body has a total of five holes for sheet metal screws.

        Clear now?

        🙂

        Alistair

        >

  2. #7 by George on September 2, 2017 - 8:13 am

    I am missing the last plate with the offset hole. I assume this is to separate fresh air from exhaust. Does anyone know where to get one? Or can you provide information, picture or drawing, or how to make one? Sure appreciate it

    • #8 by albell on September 4, 2017 - 8:28 am

      Hi George,

      Sorry about delay in responding. Yesthe plate does what you think it does. I’ll pull mine and measure it up for you.

      Cheers

      Alistair

      • #9 by George on September 5, 2017 - 10:14 am

        Thanks much! It will be appreciated 🙂

Leave a comment