Vanagon – front door speaker mounts

Update: I painted the mounts and grill. Blog post here. I think the paint holds the grill mesh in a dome shape better than no paint.

 

The door cards on my ’86 syncro were falling apart down where the previous owner had installed 6″ Boston Acoustics speakers. Really, the entire door card is pretty tired and warped but I chose to just do a quick and dirty reinforcement around the speakers. I used some scrap 1/8″ aluminium sheet to cut out a plate to stiffen the bottom of the card, some 1/2″ plate was turned down to make new bezels for the speakers, and some stainless steel mesh to make new grills.

It turned out more rugged utilitarian looking than elegant, but much better than before. Oh btw, there are tweeters behind the stock speaker grills up higher on the door. The crossovers are tucked up under the dash.

  1. #1 by Pz on April 6, 2012 - 10:09 am

    I’m a suck for anything made with brushed Alum. 🙂
    Will outlast the door-card…

    Nice work..
    Pz

    • #2 by albell on April 6, 2012 - 10:22 am

      want me to make an entire card from brushed Al?

      🙂

      ab

    • #3 by Pz on April 8, 2012 - 2:52 pm

      A whole card, of brushed Al?
      Guess I’m not that much of a suck. 🙂

      • #4 by albell on April 8, 2012 - 4:04 pm

        no you’re not.

        I suppose if one could inlay some wood to warm things up it might be nice.

        ab

  2. #5 by Bill WYellowstone on May 21, 2012 - 5:57 am

    Could always do a wrap with come dark brown vinyl, mount bezel on that.

    • #6 by albell on May 21, 2012 - 9:34 am

      true, or even use leather. I’m afraid though, that it is one of those projects that ends up as is, even with ideas for improvement.

      cheers

      ab

Leave a comment