Vanagaon – Q and D head replacement – quick update

I’ve had the engine installed for a little over a week now. I’ve had some niggling problems and I will write about them, but for now here is a crude little video of the engine running. Proof that I actually completed the job 🙂

(dirty lens, sorry. Oh the dipsy-doodle to the exhaust pipe was to try to record a bit of the exhaust note. Since the new exhaust pipes have been installed, my home made muffler does not sound as good as it did with my leaky exhaust. Wait, what? I dunno)

  1. #1 by Marius Strom on June 17, 2013 - 9:23 pm

    That’s a damned smooth idling WBX. What RPM do you have idle set to?

    • #2 by albell on June 17, 2013 - 9:35 pm

      Hi Marius,

      I was thinking the idle was a little rough, intermittent I guess, didn’t do it on camera. I think my idle rpm is around 850-900, but that is only going by dash tach.
      cheers
      ab

      PS My throttle body is worn, the butterfly plate shaft moves up and down (plays havoc with the throttle switch). Plus I do not have the stock gasket between throttle body and plenum – I’m using some of that self fusing silicone repair tape until I get a gasket. I suspect some air leakage in the throttle shaft, and perhaps in the plenum to body joint.

  2. #3 by Angus on June 18, 2013 - 5:42 am

    Nice work!

    • #4 by albell on June 18, 2013 - 7:31 am

      Even with all those white and red cable ties? (I gotta buy some black ones)

      thanks

      ab

      • #5 by famillysyncro on June 18, 2013 - 3:07 pm

        Even with those, the engine and bay looks really clean. The intake paint looks even better with the engine in back in….

Leave a comment