Vanagon – bumper build part 2

I managed to tack and weld out the 3 main parts of the bumper. It was a little bit of a struggle pulling the bottom plate into position (inside edge to inside edge with about a 1/16″ overlap). I ended up TIG welding all the joints. I didn’t like the MIG welds I made on a test piece (I don’t have many hours on the machine). I’m not saying that my TIG welds are very good, but at least I got some practice. In any case, I’m going to grind down the welds to make a rounded or at least a beveled corner. I haven’t finished fairing the free edges of the top and bottom plates yet.

Tacked up.

IMG_2485

Outside tacks on the face to bottom plate joint.

IMG_2486

Inside tacks on top plate to face plate.

IMG_2487

Then on to my inconsistent and amateurish weld out.

IMG_2488

All done, top and bottom plate welded on.

IMG_2489

 

I’m rubbish at estimating weights, but I’d guess around 10 kg as is.

  1. #1 by famillysyncro on August 2, 2013 - 9:43 pm

    Good work Alistair, as usual.
    I’ll try to hide that post to the madam or you’ll get me in trouble…..

    • #2 by albell on August 2, 2013 - 9:50 pm

      She hasn’t seen it, I’ll spring it on her when it is on the van. I won’t say anything, perhaps she won’t notice?

      ab

Leave a comment