Vanagon – egg on my face – hall sender connector

I swear, yes swear, that the connector looked fine when I pulled the engine for the head job at the beginning of this summer. Yes, I knew it had no boot, but I am sure the wires did not look like this.

IMG_2819

I had a spare connector, from an inline 4 Digifant engine, and I spliced it on. Butt connectors, dielectric grease, heat shrink, you know the drill.

IMG_2820

 

IMG_2821

 

And to boot, the “new” connector has a boot!

,

  1. #1 by famillysyncro on October 30, 2013 - 8:02 pm

    Hi Alistair

    All 3 wires seems to be dark, are they burned?
    I am pretty sure it will run better right after that.

    Jerome

    • #2 by albell on October 30, 2013 - 8:21 pm

      Not burned Jerome, just darkened from the years of heat ( I think). I’m wondering if they had a role in my mysterious occasional bucking syndrome.

      Cheers

      Alistair

      >

      • #3 by famillysyncro on October 31, 2013 - 5:51 am

        Time will tell Alistair.
        Year of heat, do you mean you need another cooler on your distributor? 😉

        Jerome

      • #4 by albell on October 31, 2013 - 6:27 am

        Actually I’d like an oil cooler. I think it’s worth looking into as it could be transferred to new motor.

        Cheers

        Ab

        >

      • #5 by famillysyncro on October 31, 2013 - 6:51 am

        An oil cooler is always good.
        I need to redo my oil cooler system with real nice hose connectors (with regular hose and clamps as now…) but again as I might change the way I did it it is not a problem. I won’t trust what I did for more than 2 years as it seems those hose clamps aren’t that great….

        Jerome

Leave a comment