Outboard motor mount for canoe

Success! I finally found the motor mount for my canoe. Eat your heart out Felder Industries! First, some old shots of my canoe. It’s an 18′ cedar canvas canoe made by Bill Greenwood in the early ’70’s. (I snagged the pics from my long neglected website. I really should move the stuff over to this blog).

And now the mount. I suspect it was made by Greenwood. IMG_2917 IMG_2918 IMG_2919 IMG_2920

Update: I climbed up and took a pic of the mount on the canoe, the dusty canoe. Hope this helps Paul, you can see the mount pinches the inwhales and is pushed as far back as the angles on the mount allow.

IMG_2932

  1. #1 by Paul on December 3, 2013 - 2:44 pm

    Looks great Alistair. I’m sure I could fab one up if I could figure out how it mounts to the canoe. Any pics with it on the marine vessel? Regards, Paul Gordon.

    • #2 by albell on December 3, 2013 - 6:04 pm

      Hi Paul,

      yes, pretty easy to make but it is carved out of one biggish hunk of oak, not glued up. No, I never mounted it on the canoe. The canoe is hung up right now, but someday I will mount it.

      cheers

      ab

    • #3 by albell on December 3, 2013 - 9:01 pm

      Paul,

      I didn’t answer your question, I see now that having a pic of it installed would be helpful. I’ll see what I can do this week.

      Alistair

      >

Leave a comment